Your Committee

The Committee is a hard-working and friendly bunch of people who work together to make decisions on matters of policy and operations, to ensure that our U3A continues to thrive. The officers of the Committee are elected annually, and collectively are the Trustees of the charity.

How about joining our committee?  We meet ten times a year, on the second Thursday morning of the month, usually in Minehead, but currently via Zoom. We each have our own area of responsibility, but work closely together to share the load. In the next few months we need to find both a new Newsletter editor and a new Membership Secretary, as the current people doing these jobs are coming to the end of their committee ‘terms’ (there is a maximum of 7 years in the constitution, to ensure a ‘turn-over of leadership for the Group). If you might be able to help please contact the Chairman for a commitment-free conversation!

Accounts and Committee Minutes

Any member of Minehead & District U3A may see a copy of Committee Minutes and Accounts. If you would like to do so, please contact the Secretary.

The current Committee has the following members:

Role Current holder Role on the Committee
Chair John Batt
chair@minehead-district-u3a.org.uk
Provides a lead for the committee, to direct the operations and overall strategy of the Group. See this page for monthly contributions ‘From the Chair’
Secretary Susan Hutchings
secretary@minehead-district-u3a.org.uk
  
The Secretary supports the Committee meetings and takes minutes.  Another important part of the role is to liaise with National Office, and complete the annual return for the Charity Commission. 
Treasurer Nic Pettit
treasurer@minehead-district-u3a.org.uk
The Treasurer makes sure the books balance. An annual report is made to the AGM.
Welfare Pam Young
welfare@minehead-district-u3a.org.uk
Welfare and accessibility – overall policy.
Welfare Helen Sellings
welfare@minehead-district-u3a.org.uk
 
Liaison with individual members.
Group coordinator
Helen Sellings
groups@minehead-district-u3a.org.uk
Liaison with Group Convenors, providing advice and support. Facilitates the development of new groups both in new subjects and additional groups for existing activities.
Resources co-ordinator David Simpson Scott
resources@minehead-district-u3a.org.uk
Co-ordinates the Group’s physical resources.
Newsletter editor Margaret Shaw
newsletter@minehead-district-u3a.org.uk
The newsletter editors alternate the tasks of setting up, editing and distributing the regular newsletter. 
Newsletter editor Assistant Newsletter editor
newsletter@minehead-district-u3a.org.uk
Vacant from May 2021
There is also a role for an assistant newsletter editor.
Membership secretary Hilary Fisk
membership@minehead-district-u3a.org.uk
The Membership Secretary creates and maintains records of all members.  Records are held in the Beacon system, supported by the Third Age Trust.

Hilary also acts as primary Website Editor.

Speaker organiser Paul Vickery
speakers@minehead-district-u3a.org.uk
The Speakers’ Organiser is responsible for arranging the speakers for our coffee mornings. 
Publicity & Promotion Margaret Shaw

A small group of members assist Margaret in publicising events and promoting the Group.
Event or trip organiser Vacancy
trips@minehead-district-u3a.org.uk
‘Social Secretary’? We would like someone to organise events, trips, visits, quizzes or other social activities.  Currently vacant.  Please volunteer if you would like to organise one, two or even more other events over the year, please speak to John, or any committee member.