Hosting a meeting

By | January 3, 2021

If you schedule or start a meeting,  then by definition you are the ‘host’ of that meeting. [Please note that when using the Pro licenced option, there are additional functions to allow transfer of host, appoint an alternative host, etc. – these are not described here.]

As host you have additional options available on the toolbar menus

Zoom toolbar (Windows)

Security

The Security button is only visible to the host:

Lock meeting: this option locks the meeting, preventing new participants from joining the meeting.  This can be useful if you have a fixed number of participants and means that te host can relax and not monitor for new entrants

Enable waiting room: The current setting is initially set according to the invitation and (if ticked) enables Waiting Room for incoming new participants or (unticked) allows new entrants to come in to the meeting unchecked.  If enabled, this also allows the host to move current participants into the Waiting Room.  Next to an individual name in the Participants panel, just select More to the right of their name and Send to Waiting Room and they’ll be removed from the live meeting and placed into the virtual waiting area.

Hide Profile pictures: as host, you can hide profile pictures of any participants that don’t have their video on, so that only their names will be displayed. 

Participant control

As host, you can use the settings to allow (or prevent):

Share screen  Allows participants to start Screen Shares 

Chat   Allows participants to use the chat function

Rename themselves  Allows participants to rename themselves from the Participants panel

Unmute themselves  Allows participants to unmute themselves without the host’s permission

Start video.  Allows participants to start their video.  Normally, the only reason this would be used is where there are many participants and communication quality is improvedxwith videos off except for a central speaker. On conclusion of the presentation, video may be restarted.

Remove participant.  If someone who’s not meant to be there somehow manages to join your meeting, you can easily get rid of them using this option (also from the Participants panel). 

Suspend participant  activities.    Turn off all participants’ video, audio, and ability to share their screen.  Also lock the meeting to prevent participants from joining.  This will apply to all participants.

Share Screen 

By default, participants cannot share screen displays.  These controls allow individual – or general – sharing.  

Participants panel

A further set of controls is enabled in the Participants window.  Click the Participants button on the toolbar and the window will open on the right. This displays clear buttons to Invite further participants; to Mute All participants; and a ‘hidden’ set of controls invoked by the three dots button () to the right:

Ask all to unmute.  This is handy when you have a meeting with say 20 participants  that are all muted, and you need them to unmute.  This will display a prompt for the participant that asks them to unmute and the participant can click Unmute in the prompt to unmute.  You don’t want to have to unmute 20 people individually.  [to Unmute just one person in a meeting, open the participant panel, and click the person that you want to unmute and click Ask to Unmute.]

Mute participants upon entry.   This is a useful option for larger meeting to prevent distracting noise in a presentation. It can be set at any time so that late joiners are muted.

Allow participants to unmute themselves.   

Allow participants to rename themselves

Play sound when someone joins or leaves.  

Enable Waiting Room.  

Lock meeting. This option locks the meeting, preventing new participants from joining the meeting.  This can be useful if you have a fixed number of participants and means that te host can relax and not monitor for new entrants